Oh If I was a Music Photographer, I would be Lawrence Watson

This past weekend I went to a free exhibit I saw publicised in TFL’s the Loop newsletter which gives things to do in London while updating you on all the many many tube closures for the weekend.  The gallery, located in Shoreditch on 28 Redchurch Street, showcased the work of Lawrence Watson.  I say his name like everyone should know who he is but truthfully I never know the name before I stepped into the gallery space and became instantly jealous of this photographer’s career.  You have probably encountered his work since he has taken some of the most iconic photos of British rock and NY Hip-hop.  One of my favourites  is of one of the Gallagher brothers playing their guitar in the Abbey Road Studios and the shot is framed through out of focused headphones but there are portraits of Beck, David Bowie, the Jam and more.  My favourite out of the entire exhibit and which was already sold as well (not that I would have been able to afford it) was this silhouette of Paul Weller playing the guitar with a little bit of outdoor light coming through the window which was used for his Wild Wood album.  

WildWoodDeluxeHowever, my favourite part of the gallery which just happened out of pure luck and timing was that I showed up the morning after the big opening party and they were still cleaning up after the night before.  They guys there let me in anyways to wander around (never have I had the chance to be in a gallery with no one around) and even better they still had some warm beer left over.  So Cheers to that!  Definitely check this out if you’re into music or photography at all.  If only I could be Lawrence Watson…oh how I wish.

Gallery details:

The World is Yours Exhibition

30 May-7 June 2009

London NewCastle Project Space

28 Redchurch Street

London E2 7DP

Mon-Fri 12pm-8pm and Sat-Sun 12pm-4pm

Go before it closes!!!!

More from Lawrence Watson:

theworldis

0 Responses to “Oh If I was a Music Photographer, I would be Lawrence Watson”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

We will make it easy for you--sign up, entry your email and receive updates by email when we post and by we I am referring to the magical internet wizards of WordPress.

Join 4 other followers

June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Sep »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Tier1London Twitter

Bookmarks


